Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision making in the past is used to made by parents, while in the modern era, as the ideology of self-independence is currently spreading among young people, a lot of people believe that young folks can make decisions by themselves. However, while I do agree with the statement that young people are now less dependent on their parents to an extent, I do think that it depends on scenarios as illustrated in the following paragraph.

First, I want to discuss about choosing schools. I think that the decision of choosing which school to study is still rarely made by students regardless of the time. The reasons being that students mostly very young, which parents tend to still see their children as unmatured, therefore, it’s unlikely that students get a chance to choose their school. The other more practical reason is the fact that most students are not financially independent, which means that their parents have still absolute dominance when it comes to choosing a school because it is them who pays the tuition.

In contrast to choosing schools, there’s still some positive progress being made, which is marriage. In the past, where the interest of a family is on top of the interest of a person, it’s normal that a marriage is decided even before a child is born because of some miscellaneous factors that might involve in the marriage. As for now, the sense of family and inheritance isn’t the mainstream anymore, young people such as princess Harry, who had quite the royal membership for marrying Megan, are taking back the right of deciding their marriage.

Lastly, there’s also something that is always being decided by young people, which is making friends. Although parents can control the friends their kids make, but only to an extent because it’s not feasible for parents to follow the kids all day in school just for this reason.

To wrap it up, I think the trend of the society is shifting towards the younger generation in terms of the right of making decisions for sure, but in the current state, I do believe that young people is still very dependent on their parents in some circumstances.