Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in today’s world have become too dependent on automobiles.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
Agree to some extent but not completely.
As people, we will have the necessity to travel from one place to anohter. Be it from home to office or school to shopping or cinema.
One can consider the commute as an unproductive, monotonimous but very essential part of our lives. And I completely
agree with the idea that we should search for ways to automate anything that is tiring and monotonimous as it can facilitate us
to spend more time on doing productive or intellectual tasks. Different places are located at varying distances from each other and
for one to get his/her work done, it is better to use automobiles instead of walking or cycling as it would consume not only time
but also a lot of energy. Hence, it is because of varyi
In this context, I would like to cite an example from my own experience. I was born in a remote village in India where we don't have
access to quality education even now though it has been almost 22 years since I was born. As a result, my parents decided to admit me
in a boarding school which was almost 200 km from my village. I used to travel for good 6 long hours to changing buses every 50 kms.
But the education I got was worth traveling for 4 to 5 times a year. And now, I have secure job living happily with my parents.
Had it not been for the automobiles, I can gaurentee that I would not have the life I have now. So, it is not appropriate to claim
that the world has become too dependent on automobiles.
However, having said that, sometimes it makes me ponder if we have become too depedent on the automobiles. And the answer could be
yes sometimes. We frequently have to travel from one place to another place which are quite a distance apart. In this wont of
grabbing an automobile everytime we go out, we are unconciously using automobiles even for the places that are very close by, for
example, to a dairy which is 50 meters away or to a park that is two blocks away. If we instead use a bicycle or go on foot, it not
only keeps our body fit but also contribute to saving the environment from the harmful gases. Hence, I would qualify my statement that
we did not become too depedent on automobiles and agree that we unnecessairly use automobiles even for very short distances.
To conclude, I belive that in today's world, we are have not become too dependent on the automobiles as they help us in
focusing more on productive tasks and saves a lot of energy. At the same time, I would not go to the extent of completely endorsing
it as we sometimes use automobiles even for places that are very close by.