Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in today’s world have become too dependent on automobiles. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
Over the last few decades, as automobiles have become affordable for more and
more people, cars have become a very controversial topic of discussion. I am of the
opinion that people in the modern world have become far too reliant on automobiles. I
feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.
To begin with, many people have become disinterested in the amount of pollution
that their vehicles create. It is a well-known fact that automobiles are one of the biggest
sources of deadly greenhouse gases, which are the main cause of global
warming. However, it seems that many individuals simply do not care about how much
damage they do by driving their cars. For example, my uncle drives an extremely large
sport utility vehicle to work every day, even though he commutes alone. This vehicle is
not energy efficient, and I think that he ought to take a carpool to his office instead of
using it. When I asked him why he continues to drive such a harmful vehicle he
responded that even though he is aware of how much fuel it uses, he does not care
because of how happy it makes him feel to drive an expensive car. This example
demonstrates how neglectful many members of modern society have become as a
consequence of their love of automobiles.
Secondly, our current obsession with automobiles has caused public
transportation systems to be neglected by government officials. Because people are
obsessed with their personal vehicles, governments have felt justified in failing to
develop bus and rail networks. My city, Toronto, is a compelling example of this.
Despite being the largest city in Canada it has only two subway lines and just a handful
of underdeveloped bus routes. While this frustrates me quite a lot, most people simply
do not care and, regretfully, the issue is never considered of even studied by our
municipal government. If more people were to demand better public transportation, of
course the government would snap into action and improve the local system. The fact
that this has not happened makes it evident to me that our current dependence on
automobiles has resulted in a lower quality of living for many people in Toronto.