Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's complex and progressive world, the internet plays an important role all around the world. Most developed countries offer free internet to all citizens like other essential services such as creating roads. Some people believe providing internet access is as critical as other services like building roads, so governments should freely offer internet access to all citizens. I agree with this opinion. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, nowadays internet use is a universal phenomenon, and all people need to have easy access to it worldwide. Governments should offer internet without any cost for people because nowadays most of the careers and schools are online because of corona period and the students need to have internet for their online classes. If a student does not have enough money to pay for internet costs, they could not have a chance to be in their classes and learn anything. For example, my brothers' school was online last year, and one of his classmates could not be at every class because of the high internet price, and he could not get a good grade at the end of the semester. In contrast, if the internet was free for students, they could easily take classes and continue their education.

Secondly, with the development of technology, most of the careers are based on the internet .in epidemic period some people have to work from home and far from their workplaces. If they do not have this ability to access free internet, they may lose their job or face high debts for the internet. Internet jobs are beneficial not only for people but also for governments because it decreases jobless rate in the country. So they should make a suitable condition for this field and support them to continue to their career. For example, last week, the global internet faced disconnection for hours. Individuals had no access to the internet. Most famous companies such as Facebook and Amazon,… lost millions of dollars just for hours without internet. Probably if it continued more, it had the power to make more complicated conditions.

To sum up, from my vantage point providing free internet access is as crucial as creating roads and government should offer it for people without any cost, Because of two main reasons. First, most classes are online nowadays, and students need to have free internet to continue their education. Second, companies and employees have to work from their homes and far from their workplaces in the epidemic period.