Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building

roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Roads and bridges are essential for the exchange of material goods and people. Internet, on the other hand, is essential for theexchange of information. In today's world, both are of equal importance for people. Therefore,I agree that governments shouldprovide free internet access to their citizens.

First of all, the internet is the fastest way for governments to circulate critical information so that citizens can be well-informedeven when they are on the go. People rely on accurate and most up-to-date information to make important decisions. Beingignorant of critical events will cause dire consequences. For example, Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic starting in2020 has devastated many countries. With the internet, people get the latest development of the situation and, therefore,makeimportant decisions such as which places to avoid and where to get vaccination shots. Without the internet, there is no betterway to disseminate these critical information for people to access.

Secondly, internet access provides efficient channel for people to exchange information. Email is much faster than traditionalpostal service. It facilitates businesses as well. Before the age of the internet, people relied on postal workers to deliver mailswhich could take days or even weeks. With the internet, it is cut down to seconds. The internet has arguably become acommodity that people simply cannot live without. Companies and businesses depend on the internet to deliver time-sensitiveinformation; without the internet, it is nearly impossible for them to thrive and say in business.

Finally, the access of the internet lays the foundation of a more democratic society in terms of the distribution of resources. Inmy country, education resource is unfairly in favor of the urban areas. Good schools and good teachers are usually located andresided in developed urban cities while rural regions do not have such privileges. With the advent of the internet,however,students in the rural regions may access these resources through remote-learning. I believe this is the cornerstone of a fairsociety, and therefore, important for governments to provide universal internet access.