Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Availability of the internet is one of the most rising questions nowadays, whether the government should make the internet free or not for all people. The prompt is suggesting that the internet should be easily available to people as roads are easy to use. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion of making it free for all citizens because its disadvantages have control over its advantages.

Firstly, the internet contains many types of content including violent, illegal, and unethical categories content. When the internet will be free for all of the country's citizens, they will browse things that are not necessary. For example, during the spreading of COVID-19, all the classes were held via the online platform, and mobile phones were easily accessible to the student, and if the internet had been free at that time they could misuse the phone. If it costs money to buy the internet, then their parents would keep track of their children and how much data would have been used by them. But in the case of free internet parents would not know how, when and what are they searching for instead of studying through the internet.

Secondly, to make the internet free for all citizens, the government needs to pay all the money from their reserves. For any poor country, it won't be a feasible option. For example, the people of Bangladesh are now facing a lack of energy for producing enough amount of current. In such a critical time, it would not be a great decision for the country to spend money on making the internet easily available for all of its citizens. Moreover, a study found that Bangladesh should invest money in decreasing the rate of unemployment throughout the country. That is why the country should not spend people's money in a way just to satisfy a group of people only.

Some may argue that the internet is the easiest way to learn any topic and that using the internet can be the bridge between an illiterate person to an educated person. But misuse of the internet can be a weapon to destroy a nation's future.

Finally, the internet should be available to all citizens but some conditions needed to be applied to the use of the internet. And before using it people should think twice about whether they are using it for the betterment of mankind or not.