Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, there have been rules and regulations which people should obey them. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. I personally contend that nowadays young people have more freedom compared to the past. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerend with this issue that youngsters have more choices in their families than previous decades. In fact, in past decades, it was family that decided about prominent issues such as marriage, devorce, and occupation of its young man or woman. In today’s world, with the advancement of technology and and development of literacy, young people are ample knowledge and information to make wise decisions. For instance, family used to choose a decent girl for its son, however, nowadays young people get in touch with different girls and boys and eventually choose the best one.

The second rationale behind this issue is rooted in the fact that there were a lot of restrictions for young people which have been obsolete. For example, young man had to go military service and young woman was not allowed to go to school. These limitations was so strict that youngsters did not have any authority to opt his or her way of life. In order to make this point more clear, consider my grand father experience. When he was 18 years old, about 75 years ago, the military service was obligatory. My grand father did not want to recruit as a soldier. Therefore, he escaped from the country and after 10 years when mandatory military service was refuted, he came back to the country. As it is axiomatic, the circumstances in which my grand father lived is absolutely different from now.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons one soon realizes that although there are some society rules that limit youngsters, conditions are considerably more conducive for young people to thrive in comparison with the past.