Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The importance of education is accepted by most people. It is also admissible that teachers play a decisive role in educating students. However, it is a controversial topic of whether teachers should have different salaries according to the level of learning shown by their students. While some people are supportive of this idea, I think that this measure will result in several problems.

To begin with, it is highly probable that a lot of teachers would push their students to the extreme if they would be paid differently according to the performances of the students. As a viable option to evaluate students’ level of learning, test scores would be emphasized more than ever. In this circumstance, many teachers would try hard to get incentives or prevent the decrease in salaries and impose pressure on their students. It is even imaginable that some of those teachers use verbal and physical violence to force their students to get high scores in examinations. In several East Asian countries, such as South Korea and China, the level of competition between teachers is already high. As secondary schools advertise their names by stressing the number of students who enter prestigious universities, they force teachers to guarantee high test scores of students. As a result, many teachers press their students and this vicious cycle would be exacerbated if the salaries of teachers would start to be different based on the performances of the students.

In addition, although the roles of teachers are significant in education, there are other conditions influencing the learning of students. For example, the average incomes of specific neighborhoods are germane to the performances of students as they have fewer resources to study compared to their counterparts in more wealthy areas. Therefore, it would be a mistake if students’ low level of learning is totally attributed to teachers and their salaries fluctuate as a consequence. In fact, a number of teachers in developing countries, especially those who working in public schools, are frustrated by the students’ lack of passion to learn because of economic hardships. In this situation, differentiating the salaries of teachers according to the students’ level of learning would worsen the circumstance only.

In conclusion, paying teachers in accordance with the students’ level of studying does not seem to be a rational idea. As aforementioned, this policy would result in critical side effects. Therefore, other measures should be considered to increase the academic achievements of students.