Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Over the past three decades, the remarkable alteration has been made in our understanding about the importance of teachers in society. There is long-running debate about the notion of whether teachers' value has been changed or not. While some people hold the opinion that temporary teachers receive less respect compared to the past, others believe their value has not changed with the passing of time. I, personally, concur with the former group because of two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, with the advent of the Internet students find what they want in the net so they do not consider their teachers as intelligent individuals, and no more hold them in high regard. No longer are teachers seen as the sole source of information and data since all people can train like them just by watching free trial courses, which are abundant in the net. On the other hand, in the past, people did not access to such information and thought teachers are special individuals with an endless knowledge about everything. The more extend knowledge a person had, the more respect he or she received from the public, so people honored them more than today. My personal experience can bring this notion home. My grandfather was a teacher in local school. I remember that most of his students sent gift for him every week to show their respect. I am a teacher now in a high school and conversely, in my class most of students are engaged with their laptops or phones and even do not listen to me.

The second ground to be mentioned is that people do not respect the teacher since they see them as a poor people who are not smart enough to earn a good living. According to current reports, up to 90% of teachers live in abject poverty and suffer from a wide variety of mental and physical illness. In addition, most of them live in poor sanitary condition. All of these have ruined their reputation as a smart healthy people in the public view. As an illustration, consider a teacher who always wears old-fashioned clothes owing to his financial status. Therefore, he seems like a low level person in eyes of not only their students but also society as a whole. If he had fashionable clothes with a lavish lifestyle, people would respect him more than now since the society is going toward materialism.

To wrap up, with all aforementioned reasons taken into account, I do believe that nowadays teachers receive much less respect from people. Not only do they not seem as smart individuals thanks to the advent of the Internet, but also they seem as poor low level people in the public's eye.