Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are respected by students and society. However, some people point out that teachers are more respected by society in the past. Personally, I totally disagree with this point, especially when the following claims are taken into consideration.

Firstly, the role of a teacher has been weakened nowadays. The primary reason for this phenomenon is the rasing of online education brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic. There are a lot of education websites online, where students can take classes, deal with homework, attend exams, and finally obtain a certificate. Take me for example, one year ago, I attended a course online which taught me how to cook for myself. I found it really interesting and helpful for me to be a good cook. Finally, I graduated from the course and could cook not only for myself but my whole family. From then on, I thought online courses can effectively replace the role of a teacher.

Secondly, pressure from parents can do harm to the stature of a teacher. Currently, teachers will not physically punish a student even if the student does not behave himself due to the potential pressure from the parent of the student. My personal experiment can totally prove this. One month ago, a student, my classmate, kept talking in Ms. Wang's class. Ms. Wang told the student to be quiet three times, but the student just do the same thing. The whole class had to endure the noise brought by the student in the whole class, which could never happen in the past.

Admittedly, the quality of teachers nowadays is highly improved, which means a higher social stature. However, without the above problems solved, teachers can not be more valued by society.

In conclusion, considering the limited condition of a higher social stature of teachers, I disagree with the statement mentioned.