Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technological progress has made us lazy.

Since the introduction of technology a great number of hard situations and affairs which people have to face are tackled. Although the technology has brought us more convenient and qualified life, to some extent it has diminished people’s tolerance and perseverance in difficult situations which are inevitable even when they are of a high social rank in advanced countries.

Undoubtedly, the cutting edge technology has aided people in various aspects of their life. First, it has provided the opportunity of progressing trade and business between countries and nations. Therefore, people would benefit from the profitable effects of this achievement such as thriving in industry and having autonomy. Second, the high speed and comfortable means of communication and transition of information including the Internet has contributed to the advancement and invention in any fields of science such as medicine which is crucial to human’s health. Consequently, with the aid of these progresses the standards of living have improved.

However, the advent of technology might have some harmful impacts on people. One reason is that people accustom to comfortable situations and would not be able to put up with difficulties. Since, they would not have the ability and sufficient awareness to cope with adverse circumstances when they have not experienced these problems and failures. Another reason is that people can not do anything without the help of technology achievements and have grown up dependent on them. One important example is that the increasing use of automobiles as fast means of transportation would be inevitable in advanced societies. And people depend on automobiles extravagantly and somehow become lazy, insofar as they get used to go anywhere with their private cars. This unavoidable fact has led to several serious threats to human’s health such as sedentary life style and air pollution.

Finally it can be concluded that besides the advantages of technology, the drawbacks of resulted laziness and dependence in people’s characteristic and activity should not be disregarded.