Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the past few decades, with the development of technology, televisions and social media have played a substantial role in the community. It has become a new trend where the company can showcase its products through television advertisements, and in return, the company is making a lot of profit from customers. In this regard, some people think that television advertisements should not target young children in marketing their products. While others hold a different opinion that it is the parent’s responsibility to hold control of the child’s activity, and there should be no restriction to show advertisements on television. From my perspective, the former view contains more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that children’s physical health might be compromised after watching a few advertisements. It is fact that when the advertisement is designed to aim at children, the editor will put some fictional stories in order to make it more attractive to children such as a man is flying like a superman, and a child can defeat his enemy by using a sword. Moreover, children at this age do not have the ability to distinguish between right and wrong, and they would try to imitate those features blindly what they see on television. Consequently, they could hurt themselves by trying such harmful activities. To elaborate this more, last week, one child tried to jump from a building since he thought after having milk, he would be like a superman. And he severely injured because of his silly act after watching an advertisement on television. Therefore, child protection is a paramount factor that should not be compromised at any level.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in my mind is that child’s mental health also would be badly affected by adapting various inappropriate contexts through television advertisements. Even though Advertisement companies claim that their advertisements contain valuable information for the younger ones, but the reality is different, and they like to show only imaginary false information whereby children get easily attracted to buy their products. Since the children easily adapt new information at this age and would continue believing that as truth for whole life which may prove very dangerous for their mental growth. Consequently, sometimes children may have to face negative consequences in the future as they actually do not aware of reality and live in their own imaginary world.

Lastly, having discussed the issue from this point of view, I rather look at it from another standpoint. Admittedly, it is clearly visible that children do not get benefited much through television advertisements, although it could have some positive sides as well. To shade more light on this, many advertisements contain valuable information for children. It gives a good impact on their overall behavior which would have not possible if they would try learning it from somewhere else. Hence, the government should imply such rules where companies, as well as children, both get benefited through broadcasting such advertisements on television.

All in all, contemplating all remarks, I strongly believe that the government should ban advertisements which contain harmful characteristics for the children. This is because advertising strategies aimed at children have many negative effects on children’s minds as well as physical health.