Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With regard to the influence of advertisement specially designed for children in the age group between two and five years old, some actively point out that negative effects are unavoidable and adverts of this kind should be timely controlled. From my perspective, this proposal should be supported by all for some specific reasons.

Young children's inability to resist the temptation of these attracting advertisement can be the major reason for controlling these adverts. Advertisers always present the products by adding some interesting elements into the advertisements, which include colorful pictures, cheering music and popular cartoon characters. Therefore, this promoting way can easily engage children's attention and arouse their desire to own these products. Such is the case for my little sister Anne who watches the cartoon, Barbie the Princess broadcast by Chanel Three on weekends. When it comes to the end of the program, there is always an advertisement aiming to sell a brand of candy, which looks exactly the same as the magic wand owned by the Barbie Princess. Every time the princess wearing fairy dress shows up with the good-looking candy in her hand, Anne will beg me and my parents to buy it for her despite the suggestions from our dentists of not eating too much candy. Therefore, it is hardly surprising that the exposure to these adverts targeted at small children should be more restricted.

However, some may argue that these advertisements can better inform parents of the products available on the market, which makes it convenient for us to select proper products for children of this age. Nevertheless, the information from sources like this is not reliable enough since almost all advertisement will deliberately avoid the flaws or negative influences but exaggerate the advantages and the positive effects of these products. The bear doll I bought for my sister, as a prime example, is said to be the best present for girls because it uses pollutant-free materials to make. Its cute and furry appearance, however, causes my sister's allergy since it is easy to be dusted, which is beyond our expectation. Therefore, viewers can not fully trust what the advertisements say about their own products.

To sum up, advertisements targeting children should not be allowed on the screen, or otherwise both parents and children may suffer a lot from them.