Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The debate on whether child-oriented advertising should be allowed or not has garnered a range of views. Nowadays, many are adamant that a myriad of elements should be taken into consideration to check the constructive and destructive facets of this issue. Some people posit that television advertising that aimed children has negative impacts on a child. On the other hand, some others take the opposite side and disagree. From my vantage point, I agree with the former group and aver that these kinds of advertisements may cause serious problems inside the family. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite point to be considered is that children's cognitive abilities. In a narrow condition, children are not capable to understand and distinguish the best choice; therefore, when a child watches this type of advertisement, he/she cannot recognize the pros and cons of each product. Consequently, the child will choose the product or service which has the best advertising show. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a child - approximately 5 years old -, I used to go shopping with my mother, and every single time I chose one kind of chocolate which had the best advertisement on television, although its taste was disgusting.

Secondly, another reason which deserves some words to say is that the child-oriented advertising can affect the family decision. Parents usually are affected by their children's choices, so when their children choose a specific product based on an advertisement on television, a parent would immediately buy it regardless of this product is good enough or not. A vivid example that can shed light on this issue is one from my brother's experience. My brother has a young son - three years old. However, my brother always buys one kind of honey because his son loves the bear that shows in the advertisement.

To wrap it up, contemplating all aforesaid reasons, one can soon realize that television advertising directed toward a child has many negative facets.