Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era and the progressive world where we live, advertisement plays a significant role in any kinds of industry in order to introduce their products, and to sell them. The controversial question which arises here is whether television advertising directed toward children should be allowed or not. When it comes to me, I firmly believe that it is a prudent course of action to inhibit them. To support my idea, there are several reasons, two of which I will delve into in the following essay.

First and foremost, advertising on the media specially the television, parents might encounter tremendous difficulties in their lives. To clarify more, unfortunately, media organizations consciously or unconsciously enjoy a variety of cartoon characters in order to exhibit the products that are related directly to the children, without considering the problems they can cause for their parents. Generally speaking, since impressionable adolescents do not possess the foresight to prevent consequences of their choices, it is probably by being exposed to the unlimited advertisements of the media such as television and radio, their penchants for having them intensify, as they seem eye-catching and appealing to them. therefore, parents do not have any choice but to satisfy their demands in order to prevent them from feeling frustrated, which puts a substantial number of financial burdens on them in the current economic climate.

Secondly, government authorities do not control all the advertising due to their preoccupation with money and profits that they can achieve through them; therefore, they can be detrimental for young ages. To be specific, recently many statistics show that advertisements lead to irreversible repercussions for children in many aspects, in the long run. For example, it goes without saying that the most portion of the advertising on the TV specially the ones that directed toward the youth consist of food products like junk foods. Although some of the parents are aware of the harmful effects of these kinds of food for their baby’s health, they have no choice but to buy them, which can take a drastic toll on their future lives owing to having a bad diet that does not contain necessary minerals, proteins, and vitamins for their health. Moreover, psychologists assert that resisting providing children’s desires too many times also ends up suffering many behavior disorders at their adulthood, since children have not the ability to understand the fruits of their decisions.

To wrap it all, not only does advertising result in parents face considerable tribulation, but also it may have dire consequences for the children themselves including mental problems and unhealthy diets. therefore, I believe that governments should make strict rules against advertising products and services, which are related to young children in order to avoid serious troubles.