Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

When it comes to the issue effects of television on people, pessimists believe that it plays a destructive role in peoples’ life. However, optimists have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account the following reason.

First and the most important reason is that many movies and programs of television are violence. As we all know, people, especially like to act and perform like what they have seen in television. Hence, violence movies affect juveniles’ behavior and increase their delinquency in the society. As a result, the television makes a violence-rich environment, so that people think they can solve any predicaments by the conflicts. They do not tolerate differences, which have always existed between various religious or cultures. Overall, the biggest disadvantage of watching television lies in the fact that expanding conflicts.

A further point we must consider is that watching television makes us less active. We do not need to do anything for watching television, unless siting on the sofa and push the buttons of remote control for changing channels. In this way, most people, who spend a lot of time front of television in a day, suffer of obesity and its negative consequences. Fat people are at the risk of heart attack, diabetes, high blood pressure, and so on. This condition is very awful. I think that a small example can give some light to this topic. In my university, several middle-age teachers died because of the heart attack, while they were at the acme of academic achievements. It is a great unfortunate for university and their families.

Apart from all points I made above, watching television does not allow us to exercise our imagination ability. Through movies, all happening and science are shown to audiences, and they do not need to imagine them. In a long-time people accustom to do not use of their brain, and it decreases their creativity. In modern Western country, psychologists warn that school students should not watch television more than two hours per day.

All above evidence supports the undeniable fact that television has numerous negative effects such as promoting violence and inactivity, and decrease people’s imagination ability. Of course, as an English proverb goes “coin has two sides,” those who take the opposite view are partly reasonable that the television allow us to be aware of news from around the world. Nonetheless, I think that its dangers outweigh profits. Last but not least, let us hope people gain deeper insight that aim of living.