Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

When it comes to the issue the importance of preservation endangered species, some people believe that we have an obligation to protect not only endangered species, but also whole creatures. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account of the following reasons.

A further point we must consider is that human have an ethical duty to protect on the nature, because they are reprehensible in animals’ extinction. Some people say that several extinctions were happened in the history of the Earth, so it is a common process and we should not be involved in this matter. However, they ignore that the scenario is different in the recent age. After industrial revolution, human activities had increased so tremendously that nature is not able to restore itself. Ozone depletion, air and water pollution, soil erosion, and even deforestation are a small part of human’s effective on the nature and species. From the moral angle, human have to preserve the nature and species in order to compensate their past mistakes.

All above evidence supports this undeniable that we should protect other species because our survival depends on them, and also it is a moral responsible. Of course, as an English proverbs goes “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those who have the opposite view partially reasonable that this project surely is expensive. Nevertheless, I think that its profits outweigh dangerous.