Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? There is nothing that young people can teach older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

There is a belief according to old people are wiser than young people, because of their life experience. Although I consider that elders have a lot of knowledge, I do not agree with the idea that young people cannot teach them anything else. This is due to the fact that elders cannot keep up with new technologies and because some of their principles of life need to be renewed. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

First and foremost, the technological advancements create problems to elders. They are not able to discover by themselves how to install a program on a laptop, or an app on a smart phone. Moreover, some of them are not aware of the online dangers, and therefore tend to be tricked by people who have bad intentions. For instance, my father received a congratulation mail, announcing him that he won a big prize. The sender was asking my dad for personal information in order to send him the prize. My father was very trilled and happy about this, but when I asked him about the contest, he did not have knowledge about it. Thus, in his happiness he did not realize the scam, but fortunately I was there to explain him how scams work on the Internet.

To continue with, our grandparents and parents grew up in different environments. Their principals, views and theories about everything, are totally different from ours. Further, elders are not open about evolution, things and laws that change fast. Hence, young people must explain them why changes are needed and how these improve the quality of live. Back in their youth, their life's blueprint was pr-established by their parents. For example, my grandmother married at the age of 18 and moved to her in-laws. When her son, my father, married, he also chose to live with them. Consequently, when my brother married, my father's expectancy was like my brother to live in the same house with him. Unfortunately for my father, my brother chose not to. This situation created long discussions, but I explained to my father that nowadays children prefer to live by themselves, to be more independent, to have their own privacy and space. I assured him that this is a normal aspect among my generation. So, after endless persuasive discussions, he managed to understand this new living concept.

To summarize, even if elders have a rich experience of life and a lot of knowledge, they still have things to learn from new generations. This is because they have difficulties in understanding the complexity of technology and because somebody must help them update their ideas about how life should be.