Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, some claim that universities and colleges should put more stress on the classes and libraries, which are supposed to receive more financial support. From my perspective, however, sports and social activities are just as crucial as classes and libraries and demand equal economic support.

First and foremost, sports and social activities can enable students to make friends with diverse backgrounds. Engaging in physical activities and socializing provide students with opportunity to get rid of their heavy workload for a while and have fun with others. Through sports and social activities, students are likely to meet people who share the same interest and hobbies thus making friends with them. Take my cousin, Tom, for a example, he is a freshman in a university which is located far away from his hometown. During the first semester at the university, this shy and little skinny boy just buried himself in the heavy school loads and never participated in the various sports and social activities. One day, he complained to me about his dull campus life and grumbled that he didn\'t have any friends in college. I encouraged him to take an active part in sports and social activities held in campus, through which he might find some like-minded people. After that, he joined the school soccer club, in which he met some people who were devoted to soccer just like him and made a lot of new friends. Therefore, it is conceivable that sports and social activities offer us great chance to make new friends.

In addition, sports and social activities can benefit the physical and mental health of students. Faced with intense schoolwork and high employment pressure, some university students tend to be extremely stressed and may suffer from psychological or even physical problems. However, participating in sports and social activities enable them to break away from that heavy school loads for a while and get refreshed, which to some extent allows them to maintain a good attitude and improves their ability to cope with pressure. When my elderly brother Henry was in university, he was so hardworking that he devoted almost all his time to his schoolwork and seldom took part in sports or social activities. Although he achieved an excellent academic performance, he suffered from anxiety and insomnia a lot as a result of the intensive pressure. Then his mentor suggested that ha could spend his spare time doing some exercises or socializing with others. From then on, he would play badminton with me every weekend and serve as a volunteer in Southern Asia every summer vocation, which not only built his body up but also helped him keep a good attitude. My brother\'s experience suggests that sports and social activities is beneficial for the students\' physical as well as mental health.

To sum up, sports and social activities can not only enable students to make new friends but also improve the physical and mental health of students. Therefore, they are just as crucial as classes and libraries and demand equal economic support.