Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, knowledge has considered as a vital element in human’s life. Therefore it comes as no surprise that communities have established specific places and considered special budgets to improve the quality of learning such as universities and colleges. However, various activities are done besides studying such as sport and social activities. There is a substantial number of people who are of the opinion that these activities are as important as studying facilities such as classes and libraries and require the same funds. I personally concur with their idea. This attitude will be exemplified in the ensuing paragraphs by focusing on three fundamental reasons.

One imperative reason coming to mind at first is that social activities improve social skills. Needless to say, everyone needs to communicate with other people. Students can improve their social abilities and their self-confidence in these useful activities. Take a person who is a first-ranked student in a top university as an example. This person has studied hard and didn’t attend to anything else. After graduation s/he doesn’t have enough chance to find a suitable job since s/he cannot present her/himself. Had this person participated in social activities, s/he would have been more successful.

The second interesting point which deserves some words here is that students require aside space to reduce their stress. It goes without saying that stress and concern don’t allow students to concentrate on their lessons. Let’s imagine a student who is under the pressure of her/his lesson and doesn’t have any entrainment. After a while, this person may be depressed and decide to quit university. In contrast, if a student does sport or other social activities, s/he feels more energetic and can unleash her/his stress. This results in better mental relaxation and learning lessons.

Despite the reasoning presented in the preceding paragraphs provides sufficient confirmation for my stance on the issue, there is yet another reason that is of equal importance. Presenting side activities such as sport and social activities can attract more students to universities. In order to illustrate, a recent noteworthy social study conducted at Tehran Univerisity can be pointed out that 70% of students tend to study in universities in which they can participate in side-activities. This clearly substantiates the idea that sport and social activities can be a suitable incentive for students.

In summary, taking all of the aforementioned ideas into consideration, one can safely assume that universities should consider budget as same as class and libraries for sport and social activities. The reasons for it are: improving social skills, reducing stress and attracting more students. I firmly recommend that universities provide more side activities.