Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I totally agree that for universities and colleges, sports and social events weigh just as much as classes and libraries, and that they deserve equal financial support.

First, sport and social activities are two important ways to keep students mentally healthy. Students who join sports clubs and who interact a lot with others tend to be optimistic and willing to share their happiness with others. Most psychiatrists recommend their patients who feel depressed sometimes to talk more with people in various social activities, to make more friends and to practice sport, since these are good ways to heal their mental wounds. One of my friends was once very frustrated about her family affaires and she often felt isolated, reluctant to talk with others. Then I invited her to my volleyball club. After participating in our sporting events, she became more active, and no longer had the time to think about her worries. Sports clubs are good places to meet new friends, and usually after a match, members hang out together for some food, where everybody can sit down and have a chat. Hence, universities and colleges should encourage and financially support these events, for the benefit of their students’ health.

Second, sport and social activities can reflect students' ability to develop interpersonal skills, which are important for their future career. Most of the students who graduate from university or college are likely to look for a job and begin their professional career. Of course, their academic skills are useful criteria in determining whether they will be able to perform well in their future work, but their experience in sport and social events plays an important role, too. Students who participate often in these activities are likely to have developed excellent interpersonal skills as they communicated with different people. Also, collective sports are useful for students to build team spirit, which can be an advantage as they work in a team in the future.

Third, sports and social activities can inspire students in a way that manuals and books can never achieve the same effect. Through taking part in social activities such as a meeting panel with alumni or a sports competition, students can develop an outlook on professions and find what they are interested in. These events may also provide them with job or internship opportunities. As more students are offered job opportunities, the school also, becomes renowned. Thus I believe that universities and colleges should provide with their students more social and sports activities, since this would create a win-win situation.

In my university, students these days complain a lot about the poor sports facilities and the limited space for them to exercise. Also, the sport terrain is already too old. However, more and more students become aware of the importance of physic exercises. I understand that maintaining sports facilities requires a large sum of budget, but I believe that in the benefit of both the students and the school, it is worth the pain.