Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Universities should require every graduation students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Public speaking is an art which is not perfected by many. Effective public speaking requires years of dedication and strenuous practice to master. You cannot expect to simply do it and become great on your own. It requires constant monitoring, mentoring and refinement. While some deem that taking public speaking courses cannot endow students with overt constructive benefits, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that taking public speaking courses can play a consequential role in students' personal development building on many levels, since improving communication skills is helpful in almost every area of life. The following paragraphs lend credence to this view.

To commence, public speaking can significantly boost your confidence. To shed more light on this, overcoming the fears and insecurities that accompany public speaking is empowering and is becoming a serious challenge for everyone in general, and for students in particular. By virtue of public speaking, your confidence levels will grow as you go from speaking to small groups of people up to large audiences. This will benefit you not just on stage, but in everyday life as well, whether it be in a meeting or on a date. On the contrary, when students lack confidence, this may be allied to low self-esteem and a negative self-image. They may also feel that someone or something else is controlling or determining the path of their lives. Consequently, while the nervousness that comes with speaking in front of a crowd will not entirely disappear, it will teach you how to deal with your fears and turn your weakness into a strength.

Another exquisite point is rooted in the fact that public speaking is an excellent way to build critical thinking skills. Needless to say, writing a speech requires a great deal of careful thought, from the audience analysis to the closing sentence. It is not enough to have a message, you also need to figure out how to tailor the message to fit the needs of your audience. If you start thinking critically about your speaking style, you may find ways to improve your general communication style at home and at work. Nonetheless, lack of critical thinking can lead to low level of analyzing and assessing reasoning as well as low level of scientific thinking considering as vital skills in the learning process. Hence, not merely do taking public speech offer efficacious learning, but it also assists students to learn deeply.

Finally yet importantly, public speaking can cultivate communication skills. When you write a speech, you have to think carefully about the best framework, persuasive strategy, and diction to communicate your message to the audience. This type of thinking can help students foster their communication skills in other areas of their lives. Personal relationships, social interactions and work situations require students to communicate ideas to other people. Public speaking focuses on communicating ideas. Students can learn to calmly take up an opposing view, to present their ideas in an organized and coherent manner, and to defend their views to others. Still, poor communication is having a tremendous destructive impact on students' future job. It leads to increased stress, missed performance goals and, above all, delay or failure to complete projects. Therefore, having higher communication skills can provide students with superior job opportunities in the future.

In the final analysis, I have to reiterate my standpoint that it is public speaking that produces self-confidence, critical thinking skills, as well as, communication skills. It is hoped that by taking public speaking courses, students benefit greatly from its brilliant advantages affecting directly on the progress of their perspective lives.