Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The way people dress is a good indication of his or her personality or character.

In my opinion the way people dress does not reveal their personality and we cannot appropriately judge them just by their outfit. I think this way for mainly two reasons.

First of all, the way people dress are affected by their culture, religion and the country where they live and not just by their attitudes. In some democratic country like Canada, people can wear whatever they want and choose their favorite wardrobe. However, governments in some countries such as Iran and Saudi Arabia have been enacting some strict laws for their people’s cloths particularly for women. According to the laws, the women must either obey them and wear hijab or go to prison. A survey conducted by women’s rights organization shows that more than half of the respondents do not agree with the laws and if they were allowed to choose their favorite wear they would not choose hijab.

Secondly, a psychological study showed that people have different viewpoint on life and it leads to have different priorities in their life. Indeed, some people look at their outfit as one of their crucial priorities and spend ample time and money on it, while others think garment is not an important subject in their life and they should spend their time and energy on noteworthy ones. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, the founder and CEO of Facebook, wears same gray t-shirt and jeans every day. During an interview in 2014, he explained why his outfit never changed. “I have one less thing to decide, thus I save not only my valuable time but also my brain power for making a better decisions at my work.” said Zuckerberg.

In conclusion, people’s outfit is influenced by diverse factors and cannot correctly reflect their personality.