Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the way a person is dressed is a good indication of his personality or character?

Nowadays, there are many kinds of clothes for people to wear. Therefore, many claim that the clothes a person dressed are a clear indication of his personality. However, I am totally disagree with it. There are lots of conditions that people can not wear the clothing they like freely.

First, many individuals may has some strict dress code in specific setting, which makes his outfits irrelevant to his character. Students in china are a good cases in point. They always be forced to wear school uniforms when they at school. They could do nothing but obey the rules. If they do not obey the rules, they are very likely kicked out from the classroom to change the clothing that they are wearing. Hence, how can you figure out students personalities while they are in school uniforms?

Second, some kids are too young to choose their outfits. Young children barely could make any decision. It is obvious that they are so young as to think or speak. Kids just accept the food that their parents offer to them and the clothes their parents pick for them. For example, maybe a girl’s mom is in good mood today, she picks up a beautiful dress carefully, like a red dress, so the young girl has to wear the red dress. But if her mother is very tired, she is very likely to choose a outfit casually for her kid. As a result, we cannot tell the personality of the young girl.

Last but not the least, there are plenty person live in a place near the equator where is very hot all year round. In most cases, they have no choice but wearing skirts and slippers because of the extremely hot weather. It does not mean that they are always causal or not pay attention to their looking. The weather is so hot that they are not expected to wear suits or jeans. In their mind, it is more important that wear comfortable than look good. Accordingly, clothings are not representative people’s personalities.

There is no doubt that we live in a life of faster rhythm. Surely, we usually distinguish people from the first impression which probably is their looking. But obviously, as the three examples listed above, there is little connection between human outfits and their personalities.