Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The way a person dresses reflects his/her characters.

Do you agree or disagree: The way people dresses is a good indication of his or her personality or character.

In modern times, there is a trend that women are more and more crazy about makeup. They believe that a good looking face is the most important for a woman. It will give a good impression on others. But they forget that under their skins nothing changes. I think this also goes with the way people dress. As the old saying goes: “Never judge a person by his or her appearance.”

Do you think that your personality has changed a lot since you are an adult? What about your dress? When people are at college, they dress cheap, casual clothes. After graduation, when they get a job, they wear a suit. The style of their dress has changed a lot. But has their personality changed as much as their clothes? Based on my experience, it is hard to change a person’s mind. If it is that easy, then there are no more lazybones.

However, the way people dress in deed indicates their social status. It is fairly easy to identify a student in the crowd based on the clothes he or she wears. From the suit a person wears, we can infer what job the person does. For example, we know what a doctor looks like because doctors wear white gowns. As for the example in the second paragraph, the change of the way peple dress suggests that their social status changes from a student to a worker.

Meanwhile, the way people dress shows that how many resources they have. As mentioned above, college students tend to wear cheap clothes. that is because they do not have a stable job and cannot afford expensive clothes. After graduation, they get a job and start to make money, so they can buy expensive and fancy clothes. As we know, we buy clothes with money, so clothes are an indication of wealth.

Some may argue that the style people dress is an indication of taste, which in some way reflects people’s personality. Admittedly, I believe that the former part is right. If a woman often wears red clothes, it means that she likes the red colour. But I don’t think that we can conclude that she is sanguine or optimistic. Maybe she just wants to catch men’s attention. Or maybe she is depressed. The reason why she often wears red clothes is that she believes that the red colour can cheer herself up. From the way she dresses and the price of the clothes, we can guess her social status and how much resources she holds.