Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The way a person dresses reflects his/her characters.

For thousands of years clothes have acted as a cover for human body for resisting cold and providing protection. With evolving textile technology and diversified social occasions, clothing industry has thrived to offer modern people a variety of choices. Nowadays, wearing clothes is far beyond satisfying the need of having a cover for our bodies. Rather, it has become reflective of one’s taste and characters to some extent.

Among many of my peers in T-shirt and flip-flops, Trevor, really sticks out for his suits and tie. Interestingly, his attire perfectly matches his personality – serious, sharp, and maticulous. Even in the 8 am calculus class where everyone yawns from last night’s study or hangover, he seems to be intrigued by the eqations on the blackboard that confuse most of his peers. At times, he will interact with the professor by answering a question, or occasionally pointing out a typo the professor accidentally overlooked. Aiming to become a businessman, Trevor works asidiously to attain what it takes: outstanding academic records, and networking skills. Right after class, you might see him head for a recruiting event or a professional workshop. Since I am a mechanical engineering major, there isn’t much I know about his performance at these events. However, I would imagine a smart, articulate young man proposing sharp questions and presenting novel ideas, and capable of holding a conversation on business issues.

Based on my observation, Trevor’s professional garment matches up really well with his characters and I could almost see a shrewd businessman out of him. Therefore, the way one dresses could really capture other’s attention and serve as an indicator of one’s characters, and my perception of him just unfolds from there and shadows my judgment on a different part of his life of which I have no knowledge.

Nevertheless, clothes are not always a reliable reflection of someone’s characters. For instance, you will often find me in sneakers, sports shorts, and a tank shirt. In fact, I am the least athletically inclined among my friends. I have hated basketball since a ball wounded my fingers in the 5th grade, and any other sports also don’t get me at all. One of the worst decision I’ve made in the past year was paying for a gym membership card that I’ve never used since. Anyway, I’m not even remotely close to sporty. Although clothes plays an important role in constructing our social image, to really know a person, a conversation, some shared time are definitely necessary.