Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solutions that if they were to try to solve the problem individually. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are almost always faced with problems, small or large, at a company, regional, or global level. We often work as individual or group to solve many of these daily challenges. Working as individual or group has advantages and disadvantages and is often suitable for certain stages of a project or task. However, I tend to agree that working as a group results in better solutions.

First, as a group, we can each present our ideas then debate and come to a conclusion. One person may come up with one or two solutions. A group of individuals can come up with different ideas and solutions. Through group work, ideas can be discussed and expanded, or used to support one another and to come up with a solution that deems superior or addresses all potential shortcomings. Knowledge and skills of a group can also be used to strengthen a solution. For example, if we work in a software company, there are teams for every project. Every member in the team works toward the same goal, they come up with different solutions, and they can get a good solution for project.

Second, each problem is complex and therefore requires knowledge and skills of different sectors to resolve. No single person is equipped to understand in-depth all technical areas. A group of people coming from different background thus can offer a complex set of expertise to deal with an issue. For example, in the last semester, we had several project assignments, which required us to work as a group. I brought my mathematical expertise to the group. Some of my group members brought in their economics theory and understanding, while others contributed to the project using their strong English language skills. As a result, our projects were highly evaluated.

In summary, based on the above statements, we can conclude that teamwork is better than work individually.