Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion on the best method to learn in school. In my opinion, working in groups is the best. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will analyze in the following paragraphs.

First of all, group work saves time. Evidently, when two or more people put in their efforts toward the completion of a particular task, it will take lesser time to do the work. This is because the total duration the project was supposed to take will be divided by the number of the individuals involved. My personal experience is a compelling example to illustrate this. In my final year in the university, we were given a project to design a chemical plant that can produce thirty thousand kilogram of ammonia. The professor in charge of the course decided to divide us into groups to facilitate the process. Each particular group was given a task different from the others. My group was given a chemical reactor to design. In this way, people contributed in different ways they could towards the success of the project, some were in charge of the paper work, while others were involved in the use of computer software to design. Consequently, we were able to complete the design within three weeks. Had it been we were asked to do this project alone, it would have taken months to complete.

Secondly, we can acquire new skills while working with our team members. Obviously, working in a group enhance of team work, communication, and other interpersonal skills, and it enable us to learn something new. When every member of a group is allowed to contribute in a project, there must be something to learn. For instance, in my final year research, we were asked to synthesize ammonium-based ionic liquid. This project involves different steps of reactions and would take time and resources. We divided the project within ourselves, so that we could finish on time and have time to study our books. I was among those that are to work in the lab, while others did other functions. During the weekends, we usually have group discussions to determine the level of the work and what methods we implored in carrying out our tasks. This allowed us to learn different things from each other. At the end of the research work, I learnt how to make use of the Microsoft Word, Excel, and Power point from my team members which was a great addition to career. This skills helped me to get my first job at Chevron Oil and Gas company after graduation. This experience shows why it is very critical to work in a group.

In conclusion, group work is the best and the most effective way to carry out a project work. This is because team work helps us to conclude the project on time. Also, we can learn new skills when we work in a team.