Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

There is no shortage of opinion on the best way to evaluate students performances in colleges or high schools. Personally, I disagree that giving all members of a group equal marks in a project is a good way to measure their performances. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will analyze in the following paragraphs.

First of all, giving all members equal marks will encourage free riding. More importantly, this will encourage laziness and some would not like to participate at all. This can also cause problems within the group members because people that work won't be happy if others get credit for something they didn't do. Drawing from my own personal experience. In my second year in the university, we were given a project on chemical titration. This project was to be done in the chemistry lab in the school. On the day we are to carry out the experiment, we found out that the lab was untidy because the group that made use of it the previous day left the lab without washing the equipment and cleaning the lab. We decided to divide the work between ourselves, so that some will do the cleaning while others will do the experiment. I was part of those that were to do the chemical experiment. The people to clean the lab were given thirty minutes to do the cleaning before we can begin the chemical titration. After thirty minutes those guys that were supposed to clean the lab left without doing the work, because they know that if we didn't see them we will be forced to do the work and at the end everybody will get the same mark.

We waited for them to clean the lab, but they didn't show up. At the end we did the cleaning and also completed the experiment. The day we submitted the work to the chemistry lecturer, everybody in the group was given equal marks. This left me and the others that did the work very angry. This experience clearly shows why every member of the group shouldn't be given equal score.

Secondly, awarding equal marks to all group members could lead to overestimation of students performance. Obviously, people that didn't participate in the group work won't know much about was given. For instance, in my fourth year in the university, we were given a group work to analyze a control system using Laplace Transformation. This work required that we learn the fundamentals of Laplace Transformation and its applications before we can solve the problem. After the professor of the course shared the students into groups, some members didn't work. When we submitted the work the lecturer assumed that everyone participated. He set similar question in the exam and expected everybody to get. To his surprise, some people failed it. Those that failed it were the students that did not work and because of this, he vowed not to give a group project again.

In conclusion, I believe same score should not be awarded to people in a group. This is because some group members will not work and it could lead to overestimation of students performance.