Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Jobs play a crucial role in our lives. Our self-esteem and happiness are highly dependent on our job satisfaction. If a person is not satisfied with his job, every problem with that job might be the last straw for him. Even some great authors in their books mention a rule of thumb: “if you don't love your job, quit it right now. Life is too short to waste your time doing something you are not in love with.” Due to this great importance, there is a heated debate about the factors affecting one's job satisfaction. One of the most important factors is whether the job includes repeated stereotype works or is it exciting with a variety of different kinds of works involved. Some people believe an ordinary job brings more satisfaction since it is easier and the person doing it has to put less effort on it. While others believe that human beings are like sea waves, if they stop trying and moving, their spirit will die. I, personally, agree with the latter idea. I rather have a job that requires me to do different works during the workday, because I believe mobility is essential to one's satisfaction. In what follows I will cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

First, each time workers face a new kind of work their mind will conceive it as a challenge and when they finish that task with success, the sense of overcoming a challenge will cause the release of a great amount of dopamine in their minds. Dopamine is an especial hormone that is responsible for creating the sense of satisfaction and happiness in mind. Workers who do same chores during the day will gradually master at doing that task and therefore, their minds will not assume doing that work as overcoming a challenge. Thus, a small amount of dopamine will be released in their minds and they will feel less satisfied than those workers who do different types of works every day.

Additionally, although there might be some counterexamples for this claim, however, human beings like excitement and hate boring tasks by nature. Doing the exact same job for hours, days, months and years will give them a feeling that they are not moving forward. They soon will start to question their life choices about choosing their job, a job which is deteriorating them day by day and has bored them to death. They may start persuading themselves that many people are like them and life is not always cut and dried like in the movies, but deep inside, the sense of dissatisfaction is still present. According to recent statistics, people who have exciting jobs, that include traveling a lot and countering different kinds of challenges every day, are about 65 percent more satisfied with their lives and they suggest young people to choose their jobs up to 80 percent more than those who have ordinary jobs.

Finally, doing a variety of works will give people the feeling that they are improving, and even if they get fired from their current firm, they have a wide range of skills and can find another job easily. For instance, a person who is required to talk different languages, know programming, be good at statistics, able to analyze graphs and to present efficiently may find a new job as translator, programmer, a scientist at statistics, data analyzer or a lecturer. Therefore, her job has improved her and created a wide range of job opportunities for her if she ever decides to leave that firm.

To make a long story short, I believe workers who do different kinds of works during the workday are more satisfied with their jobs and their lives. All aforementioned reasons point to my idea. However, an important issue that must be mentioned is that this cannot be used as a prescription for everybody and some counterexamples might exist. As a result, I suggest conducting more surveys and studies to answer this question more precisely.