Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Ever since the great advance of modern science and technology, the pace of development of every aspect of the world has been increasing. Because of such rapid change, some people hold the opinion that life nowadays is less happy and satisfying than in the past. However, I find such statement hardly convincing. In fact, I believe people living at present are more joyful than before.

First of all, modern life includes various kinds of entertainment for people to enjoy. This is very significant, considering that entertainment is the center part of people’s leisure time. If people lack methods of entertainment, pressure from work and life will add up and they will have no way to release these stresses. Nevertheless, thanks the development of entertainment industry, as well as high-tech amusement equipment and devices, different people all have a seemingly unlimited number of options to choose from to meet their individual demand and taste, so they are able to relieve themselves however they see fit. For instance, people form the past, who loved movies, didn’t have the luxury to pick what they wanted to watch. Instead, what were available in a few local cinemas were all they might have. On the contrary, due to the expansion of movie industry and the growth of online streaming service, people can not only enjoy various films with extraordinary hardware support in a near theater, but also have access to their favourite movies online, regardless of time and place.

In addition to entertainment, people in the modern society also live healthier than in the past. There is no doubt that health is one of the key elements leading to a pleasing life, and people who live now have a huge advantage over the previous generation. To be more specific, there are more medical facilities and more advanced medicine to keep people away from the suffering of disease and illness. This is due to the fast development of science, particularly biology and medical science, which contributes to people’s understanding towards their own body. As a result, people with critical condition have a better chance to survive, or even recover from it fully without relying on sheer luck. Instead, they depend on detailed, science-based therapy and treatment, supported by knowledgeable doctors and high-end medical equipment.

All in all, those who live at present are happier and more content than those that lived in the past, for today, there are more entertainment methods and better health support. I believe life will continue to be enjoyable, if not better, in the future.