Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, modern life is changing rapidly in order to enhance the standards of living and make life easier than that was in the past. However, it brings up a controversial question: does the rapid pace of this new lifestyle negatively affect people’s happiness? Personally speaking, I have to disagree with the idea that people now are less happy than they were in the past. There are three points in support of my viewpoint that are discussed in the following passage.

Firstly, novel technological advancements make it possible for people to have more leisure time. Computerized office works provided employees and customers to accomplish bureaucratic works in shorter time periods with less human labor. Various emerging technologies such as microwave ovens, electronic food makers, and vacuum cleaners also came to help housewives to fulfill house chores more quickly. Innovative transportation systems like subways and trams are another great achievement of modern life that provide fast, efficient commuting through urban areas with less traffic congestion on streets. All these advancements confer people more free time to spare on their interests and these are definitely enough reasons for every and each individual to feel more satisfied.

Furthermore, better economic condition is another good reason why I claim that people now are happier. Obviously, growing number of companies and producing factories offer more job opportunities to modern societies. Additionally, modern methods of trade and commerce through Internet such as on-line shopping is strongly considered a practical way to consume unemployment that was a critical problem in the past. As a result, people today are able to earn more money and they are likely to find it more feasible to spend more money to on health services and better nutrition and this certainly leads to more satisfaction of today modern individuals.

Finally, more recreational activities are available for fellow city residents. Nowadays, children are happy to have the access to numerous computerized games. Increasing number of amusement parks and camping sites in urban areas provide a good opportunity for individuals to spend a spiritual time with their families or friends far away the hectic day-to-day life. This is admittedly the best achievement of modern life that could not be possible unless by rapid pace of changing in modern life.

Overall, taking into account all these factors, I strongly believe that people now are happier and more satisfied due to the availability of growing number of modern technologies and amusing activities, and better financial situations. How could it adversely affect people when modern life is changing towards more convenient way of living?