Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to

It is undeniable that parents have played a significant role in children's lives. However, in my view, I stand with the point that there is a decreasing dependency between young people and their parents when arriving at the decisions on their own lives. I believe there are two reasons that can account for this trend.

First of all, there was very limited information source in the past before the Internet comes in a wide use of searching information. Therefore, when young people were facing some important situations and yet they were unfamiliar with, the best way for them to get the answer or advice was to ask their parents for help. On one hand, parents were more experiential in every aspect because they lived longer and learned more things comparing to youngsters themselves. On the other hand, with no help from the large database in the Internet in the past, parents were the most trust-worthy source of knowledge. Consequently, young people depended much on parents when making important decisions in their lives. In comparison, nowadays, people can search whatever they need on the Internet, so the way they get to learn new things is no longer limited to their parents. This definitely leads to a more independent decision-making process. Take choosing college major for an example. In my parents’ generation, with no computer and no Internet, it was time-consuming to understand all the details of each college major. Therefore, my father fully relied on his parents when making this decision. Now that he had no idea where different choices would lead him to, it was best for him to trust his parents to make the decision for him because they were more experienced. Nevertheless, when it was my turn to decide my college major, the situation was totally different. Living in the booming era of the Internet, I could receive any information I need to make the decision. Therefore, when not knowing which to choose, economics or business management program, I simply typed ‘economics vs business management college program’ on the searching website. Suddenly abundant of information shared by professional professors or students who have attended those programs popped out. By looking into the information, I could make my own decision without my parents’ help.

Furthermore, the relationship between parents and children have changed a lot over time. In the past, the society considered parents had the supreme status that children could not challenge. However, with the education of freedom and democracy, children learn to think and act more independently, which makes the relationship become more mutual. For instance, when my father was still an elementary student, what the school taught him was to obey whatever the adults said. Even when he was at home, if he dared to argue with his parents, they would slap him in the face as a severe punishment that would deter him from challenging them again. Gradually, he learned to obey and listen to whatever his parents said, and even when it comes to making the decisions of his own lives. Whereas, in today’s education, schools encourage students to think independently and take responsibility for their own lives. Therefore, young people have learned to make their own decisions since little.

In a conclusion, I agree that young people nowadays are more independent when speaking of making the decisions of their own lives. For one thing, they can learn as much as information they require to make the choice from the Internet besides listening to their parents’ advice. For another, the society nowadays encourage young people to learn and act more independently since youngsters should take responsibility for their own lives.