Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.•Wait until the class or meeting

No one can avoid making mistakes in their lifetime. Therefore, it has been long discussed that what is the best action when encountering someone's mistakes. In my opinion, people should do something about the mistakes, but not by interrupting and correcting the mistake right away during a class or meeting. Instead, I suggest people wait until the class or meeting is over and then talk to the person to correct the mistake for two reasons.

To begin with, although it is common for people to make mistakes, it is undeniably hard for people to acknowledge their mistakes right away. Not to mention to admit making mistakes in public, which may be too embarrassing for one to afford. Therefore, in order to correct the wrong information in a more acceptable way, people should do it privately. In that way, it will be easier for the person who makes the mistakes to accept and listen to you calmly. Take my high school experience for an example. Once when we were having a history class, where our history teacher was reviewing our midterm exam, she suddenly forgot a detail of a war event, and so she provided an incorrect answer to a question based on her wrong memory. Shortly after, one of my classmates stood up to argue with our history teacher, pointing out her error loud and clear in front of the class, which definitely embarrassed our history teacher seriously. Therefore, not surprisingly, our history teacher flew into a rage saying my classmate was rude and disrespectful, and their argument shifted from the midterm exam question to the student attitude, leaving the problem unsolved in the class. This example illustrates the aftermath of correcting the mistake right away without thinking for the person who makes the mistakes. It not only does harm to the person's feeling but also does nothing to help achieve the target, to correct the mistake. Back to the situation, if my classmate can take his textbook to our history teacher after class to explain the details of the war, our history teacher will very likely to accept this and provide the correct answer to us accordingly, which is the optimal situation to both parties. Therefore, in my opinion, correcting the mistake after the class or meeting is always better than say nothing or correcting it right away.

Furthermore, to express correct information is equally important to maintain a good relationship with others. Consequently, it is important to keep in mind that even if someone is making a mistake, we should not ignore their feeling or do something that will be harm their benefit; otherwise, you won't know if they will take revenge on you some day. Take my working experience for instance. One time where we were having a product launch meeting with many departments, one of my teammate found a mistake in the presenter's slide and correct him right in front of everybody. Though the presenter admitted his mistake right away, we found that after that meeting, the presenter became very hostile to our team and was not supportive as he used to be. This example demonstrates that correcting the mistake right away will harm the relationship with people, and it is not worthwhile at all to correct people’s mistakes but hurting the relationship with them. If my colleague can discuss with the presenter after the meeting before he sent out the meeting note, he may feel more comfortable and my colleague can reach her goal without harming the relationship with the presenter.

In conclusion, it is important to speak up and point out others’ mistakes in right place right time so that we can gain a win-win situation. Therefore, in my opinion, correcting people’s mistakes after the class or meeting is the best strategy.