Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The university is a very important part of our lives. It is the place that we start our professional career and where we will acquire our knowledge for the future. Some people believe that it is better to specialize in one specific academic subject during our studies; other disagree. In my view, it is better to have a broad knowledge of many subjects for two important reasons.

The main reason is that we can discover new fields of study which we will actually be interested. Researches are being produced every day from a broad range of different areas. In order to discover them we need to be constantly seeking for new areas. For example, when I was a freshman engineering student, I remember that my first specific course was about aerodynamics. It was a very interesting subject, the professor always showed to the class all the possible applications from vehicles to space ships and I was really amazed by that. So, I started to focus my studies on that, but after a time I realised that it was a very mathematical field, with a lot of complex equations and most of time it was very boring. Luckily, I also enrolled to some structural courses and then I discovered the area that I really loved. It uses a lot of programming and simulations, tasks that I enjoy doing. In that way, if I did not tried some other areas of engineering I will never found the structural field. This event clearly demonstrated that it is very important to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects.

Another reason is that a good professional need to all the area from their field of study. Even though careers are always asking from specialists, on the real work we will always need to use a broad knowledge. For instance, I remember when was an intern in an engineering company, I received a very difficult task to do. A beam that has being used in a truck showed some dangerous cracks after a very small time in use. My specialty was to estimate these fractures, but this result was unexpected. After a long research, I discovered that the problem was from another area that I did not counted. These cracks were being generated by an acoustic vibration created by the truck frame. Thus, the solution came from changing the shape of the truck and it was a speciality completely different from which I was designated but I had to do the work on the same way because I was the responsible for that product. This experience taught me that it is better to know different academic subjects.

In sum, though some may believe that it is a good thing to specialize in one specific academic subject, it is much better to have a broad knowledge of different subjects. Not only we can find new fields or areas but also every professional need to know a lot of different subjects. Everyone should try to learn more about their field of study to see all the benefits.