Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

All kinds of affairs/events, small or large, have great impact in the world around us, doesn't matter if it relates to us or not. personally, I believe that it is extremely important to have knowledge about the things and events happening in the world around us. I feel this way for two reasons, which i will explore in the following essay.

First of all, events connect us to the world around us. It works as a hook which binds us to various things and people around us. One cannot evade from the events happening around him or her by simply ignoring them. We interact with people and things by reacting or responding to various events. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About five years ago, i was a twelfth standard student, preparing for my higher secondary board examination. While preparing for the examination, i used to attend to many mock test exams for a better understanding of the examination procedure. One day, while attending a mock test, i came across a teacher who was the invigilator of the exam. I couldn't understand the format of some questions. The teacher was so much helpful in explaining the format in the solution class after the exam. Later i found out that the question format was actually very important and he was a certified examiner of the board exam. He was surprised that i was not aware of the changes in the question format. As he mentioned, the changes in the question format was published earlier in the national newspaper. I was not aware of it because i didn't read the national newspaper regularly then. Thus, it is so much important to be aware of the events happening around us.

Secondly, events which seems not related to us might not seem interesting to us. Humans are more susceptible to laziness than any other form of activity. We always tend to find the opportunity to relax and take a break from the current work. Thus, things or events which seems unrelated to us, gives us a negative vibe and pushes us away from that. For instance, a workshop on road safety won't be that much of interest to us if our course curriculum is not related to road construction or civil engineering. As I'm a student of non STEM track, it might seem the right workshop to avoid. But, it might also be a wrong choice to avoid the workshop. The workshop might teach us important safety measures which all of the citizen should follow while being on road. The workshop might also introduce us to techniques which we should follow in case of an emergency situation. All of this important information might not reach us if we don't show the potent interest in the events happening around us.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is extremely important to pay heed to the events taking place around us. This is because events connect us to our surrounding world and events seemingly unrelated to us might be more important for us to participate in.