Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern world, knowledge is power. It is important to acquire knowledge efficiently to succeed in society. There is a trend in education that encourages students to learn from facts, but I do not believe this works. I agree that it is more important to understand the ideas and concept.

First, facts can only be analyzed and correctly interpreted through a true understanding of concepts. What you see might not be true. Think of every time people watching a magic show. The beginnings are always logical, but when the magic comes, people will be shocked by so-called facts: what they have seen and the things they believed to be true. But if they learned the tricks behind the scene, they could know what really happened. Similarly, the essence of knowledge does not come easily from facts but come from systematically rules and concepts. Because facts can often be deceptive, hindering the truth from people, I would not recommend students to focus their learning from facts.

Second, concepts and ideas come from an accumulation of human's knowledge. For example, when ancient Greeks observed that fact that some objects like sun and moon move autonomously while some objects will eventually become static again, they formed a theory that these two types of objects are not subjected to the same physical rules. However, after a thousand years, Issac Newton proposed three totally different laws of motion, and then hundreds of years later, Albert Einstein formed another theory to refine Newton's laws of motion. Human spent a very long time to learn from facts to approach the truth of the universe. If students learn from understanding ideas and concepts, they are actually saving thousands of years. They won't reinvent the wheels. They are capable of gaining knowledge in an efficient way by using concepts and ideas of people from the past.

Admittedly, with higher accuracy and efficiency, it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to learn facts.