Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are incredibly important to any individuals and the attitudes people hold towards friendship can even influence the culture of a society. Instead of making new friends, I believe it is more important to keep the old ones.

First, when we are challenged by some obstacles, we usually turn to old friends rather than new ones. Old friendships are often build on a long time of mutrual trust, and this makes us comfortable to communicate with our old friend about thoughts that are deep down in our hearts. When we are beaten up by life, stumbled and fall, old friends are the most proper people that we can turn to, to talk about our ideas or asking for help. Whereas with new friends, it can be quite risky to talk too much about our ideas or asking for help.

Furthermore, if something's wrong with our friendship, it is easier for us to make new friends but it is right for us to fix the relationship. Conflicts are not avoidable among people, so when it happens, it is our choice to whether abandon this friend and making new instead or keeping the old friend. In such circumstances, I believe keeping the old friend by solving the problem is a wiser choice. By solving the problem, we may learn valuable lessons about life and human being, and the bond between friends can grow thicker. We may not achieve these if we simply make new friends instead. Additionally, we can be berried in trouble by such actions.

Finally, the world will be a better place if everyone attach great importance to keeping old friends. Imagine a society when everyone spend time and energy to maintain friendships. These friendships can grow increasingly stronger as time goes by, and it allows people with same interests to communicate with each other more efficiently.

In conclusion, keeping old friends is more beneficial for both individual and the society. Therefore, it is more important to keep old friends then making new ones.