Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this day and age, we are suffering from an argument that what is more important for us as a student, is it understanding the ideas and concepts or learning facts?

first of all, it is worth considering that they are a complement to each other and both can be interesting or boring. understanding ideas are more important for students than learning facts, I totally support it.

There are lots of reasons for that, firstly, concepts are the keystone of understanding facts. The student must “learn to learn", so, it is important to study the concepts and understand them to learn the facts on next round. For example, in mathematics, we must learn the grammars and the lows on how to solve any equation, and for physics when we learn its theories, we'll understand who the universe has created.

Secondly, when we learn the ideas and the concepts it earns us more opportunities in the society to do our work accurately in the future, for example , it is very important for doctors to learn the concepts firstly about the diseases and how to treat them then after that they depend on the experience to treat the people and the surgeons can do the difficult operations , and teacher, in the beginning, they learn how to teach their students in the future theoretically.

Thirdly, ideas and concepts are foundational to the learning of facts, like it is said "Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. teach a man to fish, and he will eat for a lifetime.” that means if the tutors teach the students the concepts in ways that are understandable so that they cannot be forgotten firstly, that will make their students be able to create their future correctly.

In conclusion, even if some subjects rely on the experience to learn, but understanding the ideas and concepts in the first place is important to educate our brains.