Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Use specific examples and reasons to support your answers.

There may exist contention about which one is more important, whether to make new friends or to keep the old friends. In my opinion, making the new friends is more important than being connected only with small circle of old friends due to the following mentioned reasons.

Firstly, making new friends with different background such as education, cast, religion, society and nationalism helps to make the friend circle wider and to understand the motley of aspects as mentioned above. People with different background have their own history and this facet helps us to make us more mature by understanding the circumstances. For instance, making new friends from other parts of world, let’s take India, helps to know the ongoing trend on India, historical back ground of India and so forth. Moreover, nowadays the world is focused on networking by connecting with people which is beneficial in business as well.

Secondly, being confined in small group of old friends reduces the chances of getting help in the difficult situation. As we grow, we travel to different places and the old friends cannot be always be with us. For instance, if a person is limited with school friends only which are normally less in numbers, then these friends may not be available in the difficult situation. On the contrary, making new friends wherever we go make readily availability of friends and helps to confront with the situation.

However, making new friends randomly may sometimes harm oneself. For instance, if we get connected with the friends which are not in line of our thinking then the situation may distract us and make us to ramble away from our norms and goals. So, the step of making new friends should be taken with great care so that the mutual benefits and understanding exit.

In conclusion, I believe in making new friends and increase the size of friend zone so that this makes people to widen the knowledge about the situation and circumstances.