Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

In the few decades, with the development of technology, advertisements of products have come up more than it used to be. I still remember when I was a child, the advertisements were just the posters on the wall or in some shops’ showcases. However, as time goes by, it is no longer strange for us to see advertisements on the television. In my point of view, advertisements make the products seem much better than they really are.

Food advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. To increase the sale, food companies usually exaggerate the taste, the nutrition and the amount of their products. For instance in advertisements of instant noodles, they will show the audience that every bowl of their instant noodles contains a plenty of vegetables and meat, and the soup in it also tastes delicious. However, the moment you open the package, you will find that there are only few dehydrated vegetables and meat, and that the soup are made of contains monosodium glutamate, chicken powder and other additives, which have strong taste and make you thirsty after drinking the soup. Aside from instant noodles, the advertisements of wine usually exaggerate that drinking wine benefits our health by improving our blood circulation, but the fact is that the harm alcohol brings to our health outweighs this so-called merit.

Furthermore, advertisements of skin care products make products seem much better than they really are. Knowing that most of us hope to be young again, advertisers always attempt to create an illusion that if you use their skin care product, your skin will be as smooth as an adolescent, or that these product can whiten your skin in just a few days. However, it is not difficult for us to notice that very few users can have the miraculous effects described in advertisement, not only because the model in it has good and fair skin before using the products, but also because some of these effects are created by computers.

In addition, advertisements of the clothes also seem much better than they really are. Clothes companies usually employ popular stars and famous models to wear their products in advertisements. Most of these people have not only a stunning appearance but also a tall and fit body shape, making an illusion to audience that people who wear the same clothes will also look wonderful. However, a large number of customers are not as slim and tempting as they are, so they will not have the same effect as the stars and models do. What is more, customers may also find some clothes have difference in color and shape comparing to the ones in advertisement. In fact, some of the pictures in advertisements are edited with computer in order to make the color and shape of these clothes look better. Therefore, all these factors above lead to a result that few customers can buy clothes they satisfy.

To sum up, most information in advertisements is overstated.