Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they

like to do—rather than doing things they should. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different perspectives on how to spend their time. I disagree that people today tend to spend too much time on personal entertainment instead of working on things they must do. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, the economic system that we live in today requires a lot of requirements to have basic needs. People have to work hard in their studies to find a good job. They have to improve their skills to stay in their job, so they do not have the opportunity to have a lot of free time to spend it on personal enjoyment. My father’s experience is a compelling example of this. He had been always busy with his work and being able to do the thing that he likes to do, such as relaxing on the beach or traveling abroad, was very hard for him. His responsibility of our home loan, my university’s tuitions and made forced him to work hard to satisfy our needs.

Secondly, even if people have the time to do things that they like to do, it is not always affordable to do so. It is obvious that entertainment things require a lot of money, and it is not easy for anyone to handle these amounts of money. For instance, I enjoy riding horses, but when I take a look at the prices of being a member of a horse club, I realize that I could not take that step.

In conclusion, I disagree that people spent too much time on their personal enjoyment rather than doing things they have to. This is because people do not much free time and because it is not always affordable to do what the like to do.