TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Out of all the professions that every society, no matter where in the world, strongly requires, teaching is perhaps the most prominent, pivotal and essential one. Not one nation can thrive and flourish without competent, adept and decent teachers. Therefore, teachers deserve to be respected and valued as they are the ones who train the future leaders of every society. Nevertheless, it seems that nowadays, teachers are less appreciated that they were in the past. I believe this to be a true and accurate notion for a plethora of reasons; and I intend to explain some of them.

The first reason to why I think teachers are less regarded nowadays is that parents tend to regard teachers as servants to them and their children rather than instructors of their children. If we pay attention to the modern families of today's world, we can see that parents tend to meddle in the work of teachers and undermine them in the presence of their children and other parents. What I mean is that the main cause that teachers are comparatively less valued is that school-children's parents underestimate the teachers and treat them with little, if no respect. To illustrate further, I will provide a personal example. When I was an elementary student, one day my classmate's mother came to school and she started yelling at our teacher in front of the whole school. Apparently, her straight A's daughter received a B and she wanted to determine why. This was the first time something like this happened; but from that day on other parents would behave similarly. The first parent who yelled at the teacher broke something that could not be repaired, the respect and value of the teacher. She could have discussed her problem in private but she didn't. And as a result everyone, even the students tended to treat the teacher with disrespect.

The second reason to why teachers were more appreciated in the past is due to the little number of the teacher in those times. In the past, not many people were educated and out of the educated population, not many of them chose teaching as their career. That's why people, students and their parents would respect the small number of available teachers a great deal. And would treat them with honor and gratitude. My father who is a 55 year old man, started his early education when he was 11 because no teacher came to his small town. Thus when a teacher went there, people would bring him gifts and food and would treat with utmost respect and appreciation.

In closing, I believe that due to the foregoing two reasons,in the past teachers were more valued by the society. Today, they are less respected than they deserve to be and this is something that has to be changed.