Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To sell a product the businesses need to make their customers aware of the existance of the products and different types of advertisements are the way by which they can reach the customers. Here, the statement posits that the advertisement directed toward the young children of two to five years old should not be allowed on Television. I disagree with this statement and in the following paragraphs, I am going to explain my reasonings.

To begin with, not allowing businesses to advertise for a particular age group is not fair to the businesses. The children in the age limit that the statement is concerned about, remains strictly under the supervision of their parents most of the time. Moreover, it is their parents, who decide what will they eat, what will they do, what will be bought for them even what program they will watch. So, even if the children are exposed to such advertisement, as long as the parents not giving the permission, it is not possible for the children to buy anything. In such scenario, a company making product for such age group should not be shackled by any restrictions. For instance, in my childhood, a local toy company collaborated with a local toothpaste company. The toy company had a very popular action figure. Now, to boost the sales of toothpaste, the toothpaste company offered a free action figure with every purchase of the toothpaste. Though I wanted to have that action figure but due to my parents restriction I was not allowed to take advantage of that offer as my parents disagreed with my idea of we being in "dire" need of toothpaste. This way, although I knew about the product, but due to my restrictions I couldn't buy it. but, it boosted the sale of the toothpaste. This way, by the discretion of the parents, problems can be averted.

Moreover, there are many products made for that age group are consumed by the elders too. This way, restricitng television advertisement can hurt the revenue generated by a company. In this market of competition, this idea sounds obsolete. For instance, I like a particular chocolate very much. This product is specially made for the children of age group two to eight. Althought this product is made for the children, there were many adults like me who loved this product. I was actually introduced to this product by a television advertisement and then I bought it for my three years old niece. Now, If there was no advertisement in the television about this product i might not even be aware of its existence. In addition, there are other forms of advertisement that can reach the children like billboard advertisement which is shown in a large open space. What will be done about that? So, not allowing advertisement sounds like an half baked idea whatever the reson it might have.

In conclusion, there might be some harm in letting children of age two to five to watch television, but not letting the businesses to air advertisement does not sound like any solution. Moreover, strict parent supervision can easily solve the problem here along with being fair with the businesses in this competitive market. Thus, I stand by my position.