Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television are the important means of communication which has enormous power to influence people through it's advertisement and different programs. These programs and advertisement should be carefully scrutinized for it's content so that it can impart a positive change in any age group of people. Some people agree that television advertising should not direct towards the lower age group (2-5 yrs), others disagree. In my opinion, television advertising can be directed to even lower age group because of mainly following two reasons.

First, it is the nature of television's agencies and companies' policies how they regulate their advertisement. A good advertisement can also impart awareness in people about their children's health, education, nutrition etc. Most of the people in rural areas where there is no other reliable means of communication and information and mostly in those families in which parents are not so literate, television plays an important role in sharing the useful information and knowledge regarding their children's health, nutrition, education through advertisement. For example; an illiterate family in a rural village can know about the necessity to give vaccine against different disease to their child in correct time after watching advertisement related to vaccines to children in the television and they will act accordingly. Realizing this importance of these advertisements, they should be carefully examined for their content so that they can create positive impact to low-aged population.

Second, as like to the parents, television also can create positive influence to the children directly through their advertisement. A well focused advertisement on developing children's capacities on different aspects of their lives can play a direct role in developing the children positively. Although an advertisement focusing on an young child can create a risk towards negativity, it solely depends upon the reliability and credibility of those advertisement. So, an authentic and a well checked advertisement will always help in creating positivity towards developing a child's capacity. For example; a child can learn about good hygiene like washing their hands before and after their meal just after watching an advertisement of soap-showing washing hands before and after a meal.

To conclude, a television can be an effective source of communicating information towards parents and children through their advertisement, if advertisements are well examined before delivering.