Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to read and write has become more important than in the past

In the past, plenty of people are not allowed to go to school or not able to afford school fees. However, these days, more and more people are educated. Humans are becoming smarter with flood of innovations. The percentage of educated children is increasing. Therefore, it will be massive lost for people who are not able to read and write. As a result, I believe that the ability to read and write is more crucial than the past.

To begin with, a large number of women and children are now allowed to go to school. After getting degrees from their school, they will go to work. There are many people who do not find good jobs even after their graduations. Consequently, it could be harder for anyone who cannot read and write to find jobs when they grow up. For instance, one of my friends who was so lazy and got bad grades, had to work harder after he realized the importance of study by watching all of his friends graduated. He had to learn from the beginning to improve his skills to write because he did not have any basic knowledge.

Secondly, people who are not being able to read and write may separate themselves from the society around them with most of educated neighbors. If they do not want to learn, it will be hard for them when their friends share how they study at schools, how they study new subjects. Moreover, some of them may become bad people if they do not feel comfortable in the environment they have. For example, one of my cousins, Tam, after struggling with school, he did not listen to his parents to go back there and now he is hanging out with bad people to fight back with his parents.

In conclusion, based on the arguments above, I strongly believe that it is very important to know how to read and write nowadays. These skills not only help us in the workplace but also improve our value to other people.