Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I personally agree with the statement that youth value opinions of celebrities to a higher degree than older people do. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, young people tend to emulate celebrities. When people are young, they attracted by celebrities` lifestyle, and they want to be as rich and famous as the celebrities. Therefore, youth think that if celebrities were able to become famous, their opinions and beliefs are the right ones and should be followed. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a teenager, I wanted to become a popular singer, and because of that I watched a lot of videos and read a myriad of interviews with successful artists. I thought that they were always right since they could such great results in their career. When I grew up, I learned that most of the celebrities are not educated people and their opinion very often misleading but I did not realize it when I was young. To that end, Young individuals admire celebrities and because of that prone to follow their points of view.

Second, young people value opinions of famous individuals because they see and listen to them sometimes more often than they communicate with their own parents. Nowadays, people live very busy lives. Parents often are overwhelmed with all responsibilities they have in front of their families and employers. Because of that, Adults with children tend to concentrate on the process of making money to support their families, and completely forget to spent time with their children and talk to them about life. In this case, the children have no choice but to listen to someone else`s opinions and believes, so they watch TV and listen to the celebrities and learn from them. For instance, when in my childhood, my parents worked too hard and did not have time on conversations with me about important things in life, I learned about this things from opinions of famous people I saw on TV. This example illustrates why young people are affected by opinions of celebrities.

To conclude, I believe that for people, who are not mature yet, points of view of renowned people seem significant. This is because young people want to live like celebrities do and because their parents do not devote enough time to them.