Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The quality of education in the universities has a significant effect on not only the life of the students but also on the prospect of a nation. A better quality education can equip a country with large number of capable and skilled individuals who can make contributuion to the different fields of that country. Now, to improve quality of education requires improving a number of areas. The teachers plays an important role in a quality education, but they are not the only factor. Thus, I disagree with the statement here that the spending more money on the salaries of the university professors will improve the quality of the education.

To begin with, in higher studies, the infrastructures of the universities play a very important role. University education is considered as the epitome of studies. It is not bound by books or the lectures provided by the teachers in the classroom. The students also need hands on experience to relate the knowledge of the book with the real life. Thus, having appropriate lab facilitites along with other resources like, well developed library is also very importatnt in ensuring a quality education. For instance, one of my friend, who is a teacher of a new engineering university, told me the campus situation of his work place. For reference, he is one of the most brightest mind I have ever seen and is a very good teacher. He said that the university lacks in essential lab facilities and the condition is such that he has to conduct lab class in traditional class settings without any equipments. Now, If the students don't do any experiments, how they are going to learn and apply this knowledge in the real life? Even if the university provides my friend with more salary, that is not going to have any effect on the quality of education as the university lacks in the most basic requirements. Thus, in my opinion it is rather wise to spend money for the infrastructure of the universities to provide quality education.

Furthermore, another indication of a better university with a quality education is the research capability of the university. It also has an undeniable effect on the future prospect of the students in getting jobs. In general, any research requires a substantial amount of money. This researchs bring out the best from the students as they have to work in the undiscovered fields of science. Not only that, having a good research potential attracts many investors and employers to invest in the university, which in turn can enable the university to spend more in research works. Thus, investing more in the field in the research can have a far reaching impact in improving the quality of the education. In addition, more research fund can facilitate the university to retain high profile experienced teachers by paying them handsome remuneration. For example, my friend, who completed his graduation from an ivy league university was hired just after his graduation considering his reasearch potential and ability, even though his GPA was low. This is how focusing money on research can help in improving the quality of education and employement possibility of the graduates too.

In conclusion, I strongly stand by my position that, spending more money on the salaries of the teachers does not ensure improving the quality of the education. Rather spending more money on the infrastructures and reasearch facilities of the universities can result in higher quality education.