Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

Universities should require every graduation students to take public speaking courses.

The question that what should in included in universities’ curriculum has always sparkled heated discussions in the era of education reforms. Some argue that public speaking courses should be set as compulsory for graduate students while others reject this opinion. In my view, I support graduate students to take at least one of the speaking courses. Through the training in public speaking, students can harvest more courageous attitude towards learning, be better prepared for future careers and also get a deeper insight into academic fields.

First, the exposure to challenging tasks requires students to be more brave and diligent. Imagine that you will give a speech in front of hundreds of people, to avoid embarrassing moments like being blank-minded, you have to spend much time designing and reciting the drafts. Besides, you are also required to jump out of the comfortable zone and fight against the stage fright. Sometimes, your potential can be fully untapped if you push yourself hard in tackling thorny issues. For instance, the leading character in the film THE KING’S SPEECH suffered from stammer and was afraid of giving speeches to the public. Because of his identity as a king, he were asked to do so and should sound decent to maintain his royal image. With the goal of giving a complete speech in live broadcasting, he invited professionals over to correct him and repeated the lectures over and over again. He successfully got rid of stammer in the end. This story can apply to graduate students who were timid to give public speeches. By overcoming your fear, you will feel a sense of achievement.

Second, public speaking courses can enhance students’ competitiveness for future careers. As we know, a lot of positions in companies involve many oral presentations, including prepared ones and spontaneous ones. If you have gained experience in public speaking, then you may find it easier to articulate ideas before the staff. An edge over others can also be seen in the interviews, where the applicants are asked to give speeches within a short period. Graduate students are facing the tough employment situation. It’s apparent that the previous training in public speaking enable the students to have advantages over their competitors.

Third, students can obtain progress in academic performance after grasping the skills in public speaking. To give an appealing speech is never an easy job, which forces the speaker to collect useful information, re-organize written structures and associate topics with the audience. All these abilities constitute exactly the demands of being a qualified researcher. In addition, the critical thinking and explicit expression can benefit the graduate students who have higher academic pursuits. No matter in writing papers or presenting research results, you can draw on the experience from public speaking courses.

In a nutshell, universities should require all the graduate students to register for public speaking courses, which will bring substantial goods to their future careers and academic directions.