Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nobody can overlook the fact that in this sophisticated, and progressive world, where we live, beneficial communication plays a pivotal role in a group work success. While some people hold the opinion that it is better for classmates to communicate with each other through email for their projects, some others stand at the other end of the continuum and believe that face to face communication is more effective. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter group, and the reasons to substantiate this point of view are elaborated hereupon.

To begin with, communicating in person leads to better results because of the decline in probable error. To be more specific, when people speak face to face, they can ask about the vague parts of the project and explain more details to each other, while this opportunity can not be reached through email. For example, when I was in high school, we were asked to do an assignment for our physics class. I remember that one of my classmates send me some data for our project, and I put all of that data in the computer program. It took me a long time, and I stayed all that night to finish. When we delivered our final project to our teacher, she told us that our results are totally wrong. After spending a significant amount of time and investigating all of the parts of our project, we understood that the data, which I had entered, was completely wrong because I should have changed the units. Had my classmates explained that details in person, I would not have made that huge mistake.

Furthermore, it is probable that all of the group members do not access to their email all the time; as a result, they can not be in touch every moment, and this issue causes a delay in group work. In other words, If people allocate all of the assignment face to face, and plan for the whole parts of the project in person, they can prevent the afterward problems and delays. For example, when I was at university, we were asked to do a summer project after passing our internship. Unfortunately, we could not organize our project in person because all of my groupmates went to their cities; therefore, we had to contact each other through email. One of our group mates had gone to an island for his summer holiday, and he did not access to the internet on that island. AS you can imagine this issue causes huge trouble for us because that boy was responsible for one of the most important parts of the projects. Consequently, we had to wait for him to come back. Had we planned for our projects in person, we would not have faced those kinds of troubles.

In a nutshell, having the aforementioned reasons, and examples into account, I am of the idea that communicating in person will lead to better outcomes because not only that decreases the risk of a mistake, but also it guarantees the completion of our project in time.